How I Learned to Eat Like a Hobbit…Sort of

I just can’t help it- I like geeky stuff! If I can find a way to work Star Wars, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings- any of it, into what I am doing, I will probably do it. So, yesterday as I was working on my third meal of the day, I just had to start chuckling to myself. Check out this video and see why, I found it on youtube and it is from The Fellowship of the Ring, first in the trilogy.


If you don’t want to watch the whole video, skip ahead to 0:55 in the clip, it has the scene that was running through my head.

You see why it cracked me up?? Here I am eating six meals a day, all hobbit like! Does it add to the image if I remind you all I am a mere five feet tall- and no, I do not have hairy feet, thank goodness for that!

Granted, the hobbits eat fairly fattening and rich foods- most of which I can’t really enjoy without a golden ticket (which brings out another song in my head, but that is more Charlie and the Chocolate Factory than Lord of the Rings- yup, it’s in your head now too isn’t it?? Sorry.) I love loved the foods that the hobbits ate. In fact, I am such a nerd that I have actually made a few of the recipes from Middle Earth (google it). I also have a weakness for scones, my favorite recipe being one called fairy godmother scones- they’re so good!
I digress. I may be eating as often as a hobbit, but my meals are certainly more healthy. I did use my golden ticket on Saturday and on Sunday to have regular coffee! Guess what? I did not enjoy it. I jokingly told my sister she boot camped all the sugar out of me, and I think she just might have done that! Saturday I attempted the coffee with one tsp of half sugar/ half splenda- good grief it was gross. Sunday I made a normal cup of coffee with 1 tsp of plain sugar and I nearly gagged. Who would have ever thought that I would prefer my coffee black with a touch of cinnamon? Definitely not me. As I had said earlier in the week, I had no idea what to use my golden ticket for and I had been looking forward to it, but there just wasn’t anything I considered worth it. Pizza? nah, I am sure I can find a whole grain recipe so if I do enjoy it, at least it is healthy. Now…Owens family, do not read this next sentence, I warn you, it could be devastating to our genetics.

I didn’t even want ICE CREAM.

OK Owens people, you may read again. Yeah, how is that for a shocking revelation? Sunday I thoroughly enjoyed a bowl of strawberries with some almonds. It is a strange sensation to no longer crave my usual, coke, ice cream, cookies, cupcakes. I am not saying I will never eat them again, I am saying I don’t have the irresistible urge to go make cupcakes NOW- or have Tim drive to the shoppette and grab a coke. This from a girl who, in her hey day on the flightline, could put away upwards of six cokes a day. To say the least, I am impressed. I have changed my eating habits, and that of my kids, they are eating six meals a day as well, but by meals I am not talking a plate of turkey, mashed potatoes, cranberries, stuffing, green bean casserole, etc. That, people, is a sacred meal to me and my sister, and if we celebrate Thanksgiving in the same state again (one day I am sure,) I will ALMOST gladly accompany her to a workout session with the punisher, uh, Mac, so I burn off what I will be consuming.

The meals I eat are more like grazing meals. You know how children are constantly poking through the cupboards in search of a snack? (or, in the case of my lil’ one a shnock, as he used to say it) I don’t believe we were meant to be gorging ourselves three times a day, we overeat! I find that a protein shake after a workout is enough to keep me going for a couple hours, I refuel with a bowl of oatmeal, or a scrambled egg with spinach- yes, one egg. I had a half a sandwich for lunch Saturday and I was full- because a couple hours before I had an apple with some natural peanut butter. In this case, it isn’t a bad idea to follow in your kids footsteps. Seriously, they are hungry every couple of hours and they burn so much energy playing, being kids, driving parents crazy and making it hard to keep an immaculate house. It doesn’t take much to fill them up either. Usually a half a sandwich or a piece of fruit is a good enough snack until regular meals. My sister told us (my TFL team) that she tries to have whole grains about three times a day so she doesn’t over do it and eat too many carbohydrates. I have adopted that practice this week and so far it is working well. I’ve done the same for my kiddos and they’re eating better than they did before. My 5 year old son especially. It was a PAIN to get him to eat, but following the hobbit meal schedule, he clears his plate now with no issue. I am giving him smaller portions, but he’s eating six times a day. He gets up when he knows I am finishing my workout so he can have a “protein shake,” his is usually just milk with frozen strawberries and banana, but it is something he looks forward to.

Anyway, that is the end of my sudden realization. I had been thinking, man how am I going to remember to eat six times a day? Then, after I have adjusted to the schedule and I’m remembering to eat, the hobbit comparison comes to me. It’s not that hard once your body readjusts to wanting food those six times. Trust me, when you get hungry you know it. So, if you don’t trust me, trust Bilbo, Frodo, Samwise, Merry, and Pippin! Have your breakfast, second breakfast, elevenses, luncheon, afternoon tea, and supper, you might just find you’re eating less, and eating food that is better for your body. Just don’t eat the same food they’re eating!

I found an interesting concept on pinterest that is a great guideline- eat food, not crap. Of course, being a veteran, you know I like my acronyms.
F- fruits and veggies
O- organic lean protein
O- omega 3 fatty acids
D- drink water

C-carbonated drinks
R-refined sugars
A- artificial sweeteners and colors
P- processed foods

Its pretty simple, if it’s real, whole grain, grown and not processed, you’re probably okay. Sis also reminds me, if you have to justify it, you really don’t need it.

I leave you with the words of Mr. Tolkien:
“The greatest adventure is what lies ahead.
Today and tomorrow are yet to be said.
The chances, the changes are all yours to make.
The mold of your life is in your hands to break.”
― J.R.R Tolkien, The Hobbit

Go ahead, unleash your inner hobbit!

About Carmen

Hi. I am a wife, homeschooling mom, reader, crafter, geek, and sci fi nerd. Mostly, I just love Jesus and try to love others too like He does.
Gallery | This entry was posted in TFL Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

