Sarah’s Pumpkin Oatmeal

I finished my 10 day boot camp on Wednesday this week! That meant Thursday I could reintroduce whole grains into my diet- HALLELUJAH!!!!!!!

Wednesday Coach Sarah- or Sarah, my little sister, sent out recipes for oatmeal. This is my sister, Sarah, her husband Travis and my two favorite nephews in the whole world!!

My sister and her family

Isn’t this a great picture? It was taken by Denecia Lagundo, she uses all natural light and her pictures are gorgeous! If you’re in Maryland, you should check her out.

Back to the subject at hand. I bet you’re thinking, wow- oatmeal, how hard can it be to make oatmeal, you just read the box, right? Well, technically yes, but this is beefed up fancy oatmeal people, palate pleasing to those who have been without sugar and grains for 10 days! She got the original recipe from an old Taste of Home magazine our mom had lying around and tweaked it to her specifications. Feel free to do the same.

Pumpkin Oatmeal (2 servings)

  • 1 C water
  • 1 C FF* milk
  • 1 C old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 C canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp Splenda brown sugar blend
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • optional : dried cranberries, chopped pecans

Supplies to make oatmeal


Directions

  • In small saucepan, combine water, milk, oats, pumpkin, and pie spice.  Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 5 minutes.

Everything measured out


Ingredients in pan

Bring to a boil, cook 5 minutes


  • Remove from heat; stir in vanilla and sugar. Sprinkle with cranberries and pecans, if desired.

Add brown sugar and vanilla


  • Yield: 2 Servings
  • Nutrition Facts: (IF made following exact recipe above)1 C (w/out cranberries) 268 calories, 5 g fat (trace saturated fat), 0 cholesterol, 51 mg sodium, 49 g carbohydrate, 6 g fiber, 10 g protein

Delicious breakfast

My kids even loved this- but they added extra brown sugar to theirs. I didn’t have the brown sugar/ Splenda mix, so I used regular brown sugar. If you do that just use 2 tsp brown sugar. In the interest of keeping mine lower in sugar, I only used 1 tsp. I also don’t use fat free milk, I use 1%, so use what you have. In my personal version, I use 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice- I love pumpkin pie spice. I also added an extra 2 TBSP of pumpkin to mine because I really like pumpkin too. Now, the servings are pretty big, I could easily serve breakfast for myself and both my kiddos with this recipe. If you double it- you will have a lot of oatmeal- go ahead ask me how I know! A double batch would feed probably 6 people especially topped with cranberries and pecans.

*FF= Fat Free

About Carmen

Hi. I am a wife, homeschooling mom, reader, crafter, geek, and sci fi nerd. Mostly, I just love Jesus and try to love others too like He does.
Gallery | This entry was posted in TFL Progress, tutorial, What's Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

