Day 8

I have 2 days left, I sat here and thought about what I wanted to eat for my first “golden ticket” – and I am shocked. I cannot think of one single thing that I actually miss. I mean I will ALWAYS love chocolate, but I don’t think I need to rush out and ruin the progress I have made by stuffing my face full of brownies. Instead, I have spent the week making sure I have my 6 meals and drink all my water- I have to be good- my sister is my coach. That’s just extreme pressure man- I don’t need to mess up! I jest, she has been a very good coach so far, she hasn’t picked too much, mainly to recommend I switch to 1% milk, and to drink all my water. If I don’t, I notice I get a raging headache around 4 in the afternoon. This also occurs if I forget to eat and I get hungry! To use a phrase coined by The Pioneer Woman if I don’t eat, I get raging LBSCBDO (low blood sugar cranky butt disorder) and I cannot be responsible for anything I say or do in hunger. It was worse when I was full on grazing, nachos here, handful of goldfish, oreos- basically whatever was close at hand. It seems to me though, that by having to make sure I have healthy choices in the house and scheduling 6 separate times for me to eat I don’t feel the need to eat as much. Quantity vs quality perhaps?

So far a typical day for me looks like this: (pardon my military time, it’s a habit I don’t see breaking)

  • 0625 Wake up
  • 0645 Workout
  • 0730 1C milk blended with fruit and scoop of protein powder while I do my devotional
  • 0800 Kids need to be fed and prepare for school
  • 0930 Snack (fruit, or protein bar, maybe almonds)
  • 0945-1230 School with the kids
  • 1230 Lunch- kids might have chicken salad sandwich, I will eat the chicken salad tossed with spinach leaves and a side of carrot sticks and a cup of black coffee
  • 1300-1500 I usually have the kids go chill out in their rooms and read or have a Star Wars battle- just so I can relax and refocus
  • 1430 While the kids rest I have a snack- either air popped popcorn, piece of fruit, protein bar, nuts,
  • 1830ish We have dinner- I eat a lot of chicken- Tim likes beef- here’s where some creativity comes in to play. Ideas- steak salad, baked chicken, crock pot Latin pork, whatever it is, I have been serving all our meals with HUGE portions of vegetables.
  • 2000 snack- blended banana blueberry soft serve**, apple with peanut butter
  • 2230 Bed (no trouble sleeping at ALL since I started working out)

Normally I would have mashed potatoes, rice, pasta, biscuits- those type of sides with smaller veggie portions. The boot camp has made me realize how much of that is always on my plate- in just about every meal. I am looking forward to adding whole grain bread back in to my diet, I would really like a piece of toast with my egg, spinach and cheese scramble. Another thing I miss- tortilla chips! Here’s a confession…I haven’t had to buy a bag since boot camp started! When I buy them I buy about four bags at a time. We still have two left. This time around when they are added back, they’ll be whole grain chips, eaten in serious moderation…I have a weakness for salsa, I blame genetics!

Working out every single day for the last eight days has been…not bad. The first two days were hard, I haven’t worked out in ages, but starting off this week it was easier to get going once I started. Sunday, I actually started doing the couch to 5k program, tomorrow is day two of that. I plan on taking it very slow- I am not a runner, I am barely a walker, one thing I know is that I am persistent. All it took for me to finish the Komen 3 Day walk was some trash talking by my bro-in-law and I was literally hell bent on finishing all 60 miles. I might not have been able to walk without pain or blisters, but I finished it. Once boot camp is over my goal is to continue working out six times per week. God rested on the seventh day, so am I.

Here I am trying to not demotivate myself, and reinforcing something I keep telling my kids- make wise choices. Your actions have consequences. I should know, this is how I ended up having to make lifestyle changes to my eating and exercising in the first place!! I know I can do this, I know I want to do it- but sometimes, like when I am staring down my choice of leftover pizza that the family devoured and a bag of chicken breasts, I almost want to reach for the easy way out. Alas, I have motivation posters EVERYWHERE! One look and I find myself reaching for the chicken, even though it will have to be cooked. It’s simple meals like the one I had today though that assure me I made the right choice.

Here’s the recipe if you want to try it.

  • Chicken breast (mine are halves of the mutant BSCB* you get at the store)
  • Splash of Low Sodium soy sauce
  • Dash of ground ginger
  • Dash of ground mustard
  • 1/8 tsp minced garlic
  • vegetables (I used sugar snap peas and carrots)

In a pan heat about 1/2 TBSP olive oil, when it is warm toss in your chicken and your spices, garlic and soy sauce. Allow the chicken to cook until browned on both sides (won’t be cooked through) Then toss your vegetables in, cover and allow to cook for 8-10 minutes. Check to make sure your chicken is cooked through, cut up your chicken and serve with vegetables.

It was very tasty!

*BSCB= boneless, skinless chicken breast

**Soft serve is not ice cream in this case, it is literally two frozen bananas and a 1/2 C of blueberries mixed in the food processor until it’s a delicious frozen treat.

About Carmen

Hi. I am a wife, homeschooling mom, reader, crafter, geek, and sci fi nerd. Mostly, I just love Jesus and try to love others too like He does.
Gallery | This entry was posted in TFL Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

