Thoughts on Day Three

Ow. It has been my first thought waking up the last two mornings. A hard realization hit me as I attempted pushups that used to be easy; one a non bending wrist makes for difficult pushups and two- uh when did I get so out of shape?!?! Then it dawned on me- I’m not a 19 year old in bootcamp! I’m 32 with 2 kids and my last real workout (before my Zumba DVD) was a Thanksgiving bootcamp hour and a half of torture- courtesy of my sister and her sadistic ummm…”motivational” trainer Mac. After that wonderful day I couldn’t walk without my lower half going on strike!! No joke, sis thought it was hilarious, but I very carefully screened my calls after that! Seriously though, the first lesson I’ve learned us that I NEED this kick in the butt to change my eating habits and my lack of exercise. I live in Alaska- I have plans for this summer (none that involve boats) and I need to be in shape. I also have a responsibility as a Mom to make sure my kids don’t catch my bad eating habits. So while I’m only complaining a little about the sore muscles and the lack of sugar in my diet; I’m actually thankful I’ve had to take notice of what I used to eat and drink.

I’m a coffee drinker. Ok, I should say that I’m an ALL DAY coffee drinker. It wouldn’t be so bad if it was black, might be an overload on caffeine, but it’s still 0 calories. I, however, have a family trait- it demands that I have my coffee with cream and sugar, my iced tea with southern amounts of sugar, you get the idea. I like sugar. I’m talking a bowl of ice cream every night when I was a kid, no seriously a bowl- its hard wired into my DNA! To get back to the point, yesterday as I tried to choke down black coffee I realized this: I’m addicted to sugar and coffee. If I drink 3 cups of coffee a day with cream and sugar I’m using about 3 TBSP of sugar, maybe a little less but it’s still a lot of sugar. I can’t go without my coffee- I crave the caffeine- so I needed an alternative since I’d like my new lifestyle changes to work. I found a few sites online that said to try flavored creamers, those are out during my 10 day bootcamp they’ve got sugar go figure! Another site suggested stevia or Splenda- also out during bootcamp. Awesome, no hope for enjoying my java! Then I found it- the way to enjoy black coffee with no cream or sugar! Cinnamon. Yes, it totally works and tastes pretty darn good! I brewed a pot of coffee and added about a teaspoon to the grounds, bonus- it smells amazing while it’s brewing! I also added about 1/4 tsp to my cup before pouring the coffee, gave it a stir and enjoyed every last drop! It was such a divine moment. There you have it my friends- a sugar free way to enjoy black coffee.

The no bread thing, it stinks when I would really love a chicken salad sandwich. However, it’s not that hard to toss some fresh spinach in a bowl and have my chicken salad that way instead. I did mix up a dip from my homemade, sugar free, plain yogurt to dip raw veggies in. It tastes pretty good too, not like making dip with sour cream but still pretty tasty.

Going without potatoes is almost as bad as no sugar! I’m the queen of potatoes as a side dish. I like them mashed, boiled, broiled, roasted, baked, au gratin, hash browned, fry style, tater tot- I think you get the point. I’m like Forrest Gump and Bubba- except with potatoes! They’re also starchy carbs- out with bootcamp and not a great side to eat everyday. So I’ve found several recipes that swear cauliflower is the new mashed fauxtatoes…that remains to be tasted.

It’s also where I’ll leave you for today. Day 3 is well underway, I’m 3/3 on workouts and have the sore muscles to prove it. I’m drinking so much water I think I’m turning into a camel. My baby sister is one tough coach but in the end of this 70 day cycle I bet I’ll be thanking her for pushing me towards this.

**Disclaimer- This in no way means she isn’t still a brat!! ;)**

About Carmen

Hi. I am a wife, homeschooling mom, reader, crafter, geek, and sci fi nerd. Mostly, I just love Jesus and try to love others too like He does.
Gallery | This entry was posted in TFL Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

