hOmEsChOoL hAvOc

Wow! What a crazy month or so it has been! We literally made the decision to homeschool, ordered a curriculum, and pulled the kids within a week and a half time frame. I must be completely crazy, right? I sometimes think I am, but then I realize that we prayed about it, our family talked about it and the answer seemed obvious, yes, do it! It was that simple.

We began using My Father’s World curriculum- specifically Adventures in My Father’s World, which I am using for history for both kids. It’s more challenging for Caleb, but he loves the activities, they are spot on for Faith. She grasps what we are talking about and is comprehending how our country was discovered. Caleb just likes building wigwams and tepees and hearing about the Indians. It works for us.

I am using Bob Jones math for both kids, they were already familiar with the format from CCA and who am I to mess with a good thing? It has been fantastic for both kids. We re-covered a few things Faith had barely glanced over in school here, but we were able to explain it, practice it and apply it. After learning about fact triangles in particular, it was like a light bulb went off, she just went, “OHHH! Now I get it!” That was such a great feeling.

Caleb enjoys his math so much he keeps trying to do way more than I set out for him. Instead of one page a day we are doing two, occasionally three if it is a review day. I did decide that even though I like MFW’s kindergarten it is too easy for him. He already knows his alphabet, counts to 100, knows the days of the week, months, and the like. I am currently searching for a great phonics program, this boy of mine is just itching to read! I am thinking of picking up hooked on phonics and a few workbooks. We spend quite a bit of time reading together and working on sight words. I think, for kindergarten that is still pretty good.

I also use Bob Jones for English. The teacher manual and work text are simple to use and Faith hasn’t had any trouble. We covered sentence types, punctuation, stuff like that. Now we are working on writing and the steps involved, which coincides nicely with NaNoWriMo. I admit I am woefully behind on mine having only written 4k words so far! Faith has a goal of 1k words and I think when she finally works her story out in her head she will exceed that goal. She has a brilliant imagination.

I admit I had a little trouble figuring out what to teach for Bible. Faith has covered creation several times in the last year, so has Caleb. Instead I am using lapbooks for Bible topics. We started with the basics, what is the Bible? I explained the Old and New Testament, we covered a few major stories in each Testament. Right now we are working on memorizing all 66 books of the Bible. Faith learns this much more quickly than Caleb, but for being 5 he is doing really well. During Bible time we have also been using YouTube to listen to worship songs, both of my kids love to sing- very loudly. I love to sing too, but I generally keep it in the shower, I am afraid I am rather tone-deaf!!!

I haven’t really started science. Caleb isn’t too interested in it just yet and Faith only wants to do experiments. I think I will wait until spring to do science, it might be a summer subject for us. We will probably just learn planets for now, and how to identify the North Star, what the northern lights are, things like that in an overview. Faith gets her fill of experiments in co-op so she is satisfied with that. We also have a few fun crafts we do, like invisible ink, so it is a combination art/science project.

I think that is it, we pretty much cover Bible, Music, History, Math and English every day. We have art a couple of times a week. We read a lot and the kiddos play together and use their imaginations all the time! We are looking for a great karate place in Anchorage so they can both do karate for PE. It can be crazy in here some days. We will have math going on at Caleb’s desk, Faith blasting away at something on math blaster on the computer, and both dogs crashed under our chairs. We also have days where I have them both at the table working on a craft while I read to them. It’s crazy, its chaotic, some days it is a struggle, but they’re happy. I am happy. In the end I know they’re learning and I know they’re doing it at their own pace in their own style. I’d say that is a pretty good thing!

20111116-112507.jpg

20111116-112757.jpg

About Carmen

Hi. I am a wife, homeschooling mom, reader, crafter, geek, and sci fi nerd. Mostly, I just love Jesus and try to love others too like He does.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Little Latvis Schoolhouse. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to hOmEsChOoL hAvOc

  1. tammy says:

    Apologia has a great Elementary Series and one of their books is Astronomy. Kristin loved it!! (actually, she’s loved every book we’ve done from that series!) I’m a little sad I didn’t know about when she was in 1st grade. 🙂 Sounds like you and the kids are doing great. Keep up the excellent work!!

Leave a Reply

