Cookie Dough Dip

I found a recipe for cookie dough dip on the internet and I decided to make it. I also decided to not tell my kids they were eating a healthy snack with a little bit of sweet stuff thrown in. I tweaked it a little bit and here is what mine turned out like…

Ingredients

Simple ingredients, I do think if you wanted to, you could leave out the salt and baking soda. Not pictured is the little bit of honey I added to help mine get a little more smooth texture and consistency. I may have used 1Tbsp of honey. It is basically chickpeas, peanut butter, vanilla, optional brown sugar and chocolate chips. You mix everything in the food processor- except the chocolate!!

Ready to mix

I added everything since it was the first time I made it, I will reduce the amount of brown sugar next time. It is sweet enough I think with the peanut butter.

Add chocolate chips

Once it is to the consistency you prefer, stir on your chocolate chips. It really looks and smells like cookie dough! Faith kept begging me to hurry up and bake them. She only walked in after I had already mixed it, so she had no idea it was actually a peanut butter hummus. Yay for sneaky snacks.

Ready to eat

It looks tasty, doesn’t it?! My next step was to find guinea pigs. Since Faith was hovering nearby I snagged her and handed her a graham cracker with dip on it. She thought I was letting her have cookie dough and kept asking when the cookies were going to be done. I told her I wasn’t baking these, I was eating the bowl raw instead. Turns out my smart aleck comment reached the ears of my boy. I turned to him with a dip filled spoon and this is the face I got…

NOOOOOOO!!!

Not because he didn’t know what it is…but because EEK!, it might be RAW COOKIE DOUGH!!! He begged me not to make him eat raw dough, so I had to explain that this was safe to eat, it wasn’t raw cookie dough and in fact it was healthy…he was very dubious but he tried it. He tried one bite, then another…then he said, it needs cut up apples! We cut up and apple and he happily dipped away. Faith dug in with graham crackers, all in all we got two thumbs up from both kiddos. That makes this a winner in my book!

Two thumbs up

Of course, I couldn’t leave it at that. I sent my super health conscious sister a photo of Caleb and I ingesting cookie dough. She responded with, “bad day?” Then I sent her a quick overview of the recipe and my tweaks her only response then is, “only you could take something healthy and turn it into dessert!” It’s good to be a rebel! 🙂

 

Here’s a recipe overview for you if you want to experiment too!

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained, rinsed
  • 1/4 C peanut butter
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 C brown sugar (use less if you like)
  • chocolate chips (stir in as many or as few as you want, next time I am using mini chips)

Add everything except the chips into the food processor, blend until smooth adding up to 1 TBSP of honey to get the consistency you want. Serve chilled with apples and graham crackers. It is delicious!

 

About Carmen

Hi. I am a wife, homeschooling mom, reader, crafter, geek, and sci fi nerd. Mostly, I just love Jesus and try to love others too like He does.
Gallery | This entry was posted in tutorial, What's Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

