Fast French Toast

My kids love French toast. It is pretty easy to make but I don’t usually make it, it’s one of those dishes I forget about. Maybe it’s too simple for us!! I haven’t found a way to Star Wars or Harry Potterize it, yet.

Yesterday my kids wanted nothing to do with cereal or oatmeal. My solution? French toast, of course! This is the fast and furious pan to plate in under 10 minutes version.

You want to start by grabbing everything you need, a container for your mixture, 2 eggs, 4 bread slices, milk, cinnamon, vanilla and nutmeg.

20111020-104047.jpg

Crack the two eggs in your container, add roughly a half cup of milk. Using a fork, mix well. Turn your pan on to medium or medium-high at this point and spray with non-stick spray.

For the next step, use your judgement. I use a lot of cinnamon and nutmeg, if you want to be like me use about 2 tsp cinnamon to 1 tsp nutmeg. Splash in up to a teaspoon of vanilla extract.

20111020-105131.jpg

Mix again and put in two slices of bread, soak for a second then flip them over.

20111020-105149.jpg

Put the bread in your pan and let it sizzle, it takes maybe 2 minutes each side, but you want to make sure the egg is cooked! While the first 2 slices are cooking, soak the final 2.

Finish cooking the first 2 and remove to plate, garnish as desired. My kids like syrup, I kind of like nutella and bananas. You could top with fresh fruit or powdered sugar. Finish by cooking the last 2 slices, serve and enjoy!

Simple breakfast in no time! Please excuse these sad blueberries. Since we moved to Alaska I have no access to my blueberry supplier…aka Mom. I settled for these teeny tiny blueberries instead of my Mom’s quarter sized berries of awesomeness. I am suffering serious berry withdrawal.

**Disclaimer- All of these pictures were taken with my phone, please don’t judge the quality!!**

About Carmen

Hi. I am a wife, homeschooling mom, reader, crafter, geek, and sci fi nerd. Mostly, I just love Jesus and try to love others too like He does.
This entry was posted in What's Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

