Angels and Air Guitars

So, recently my oldest graduated from kindergarten.  I’ve never been overly mushy about anything- until I had kids, now I feel like the waterworks turn on at the drop of a hat.  It’s fairly annoying, lol.  Anyway back to the story, sorry about the sidebar.  She graduated from probably the best school in our area- just my humble opinion folks.  Her teacher was amazing, the staff know all the kids by name- and their parents.  She goes to chapel every Friday, and by golly she reads already.  Anyway, my oldest has a flair for the dramatic, but she is always very very sincere.  If she cares for one of her friends, she goes all out, she can’t give to people halfway.  (Now cleaning her room, that’s a whole different matter)  She is loyal, loving, smart, kind and funny.  This is not my story though.  After graduation she had three days left of school, she got to play with her friends one last time before summer.  It’s bittersweet since we are homeschooling next year, so some of her friends she may not see again, I hope that’s not the case. 

Her last day of school they had a celebration chapel service an hour before dismissal.  I had gotten involved in some stuff here at home and thought about skipping it, but I put down whatever it was I was working on (gee, must’ve been really important, right?!) and son and I headed to school.  The service had started before we got there, so I didn’t see her right away, we ended up standing for a song until her teacher spotted me and waved us over.  Her teacher leaned over and told me F had been worried I wasn’t going to make it.  I just hugged my girl and settled in for the service, we sang a few more songs, and the pastor stopped to give his sermonette (short attention span of the listeners) and called F up to the stage.  He proceeded to tell everyone how while worshipping and singing praise songs through the school year he noticed F in the front row, eyes closed singing- and playing an air guitar in each service.  Admittedly he thought this was cute and brushed it off as a cute kid thing.  By this time, I’m tearing up already (as I start to now) and he is describing how we are called to worship with our whole heart and not worry about how others may perceive us.  (I know I am probably paraphrasing a LOT)  He remembered F and her eyes closed jamming on her air guitar and thought why couldn’t there be an angel in heaven just rocking out with her?  This is the thought I leave you with, because I know I can be guilty of it.  Do you worship with angels and air guitars, or like I sometimes do, singing the words and enjoying the music without fully realizing we sing to the King of kings, not to our neighbor in the pew?
Excuse the poor photo quality, my old cell phone cam wasn’t that great!  Here’s hoping you all rock on with angels and air guitars.
Here she is in better quality.
About Carmen

Hi. I am a wife, homeschooling mom, reader, crafter, geek, and sci fi nerd. Mostly, I just love Jesus and try to love others too like He does.
This entry was posted in Life in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

