Rosca de Reyes…adventures in baking

Interestingly enough I got the idea from Dora.  Yes, Dora, as in Dora the Explorer.  Today is Three Kings Day and go figure I didn’t really know what it was, I guessed it was about the Epiphany, so I googled.  Earlier this week I posted that my kids and I were doing a special project with each other, boy and I are making a field journal of plants and animals; girl and I are cooking.  We decided one project per week, so today girl and I made Rosca de Reyes or Three Kings Cake.  I hope you like pictures!!  We took a ton, and even though I am a bit of a perfectionist, I think i did a good job letting her do most of the work and showing her how to bake some bread, yes I said bread, I know it’s a Three Kings Cake, however it is a bread recipe of sorts.  After deciding on the project while she was in school, I needed to find a recipe.  I posted a cry for help on Facebook because apparently google didn’t like my recipe search for Roscas de Reyes at all.  Thanks @Sue for the help!!  🙂

I went with this recipe mainly because it looked much simpler for girl to follow; she is only 6 you know.  We did omit the anise and candied fruits and such, my munchkins won’t eat them, instead we frosted the cake with some cream cheese frosting and munchkins topped it with some very festive sprinkles.  I know, it’s not totally traditional, but hey I can claim my Mexican heritage now and again and daggone it, that’s how we make our Rosca de Reyes in this house.  On to the pictures!

                                                           We gathered our ingredients

And of course boy had to come watch
Oh yeah, I let her crack the eggs too
And she started mixing
and mixing
At this point she decided it was getting difficult…
she decided to smell it…and decided that the rum in it made it stinky
Then I showed her how to knead bread dough…it took a little bit of show and tell, but she got the general point. 
She really liked beating the dough in between the folding and kneading. 
After it rested we started rolling it into a long rope- it was a very coordinated effort…
Then she decided to vogue it up while I finished the ring…tiny diva!
Finally we did the egg wash before popping it into the oven to bake
Hello Beautiful!
Then they both wanted to help with the sprinkles..many of them made it onto the rosca…many more found they became a snack…
Proof of the snacking!!!
We have Rosca de Reyes!!!
I must point out that right after I took this picture and set the camera down, which was maybe 15 seconds, the sprinkles nearly quadrupled on the cake.  It was a full bottle when we started.  Oh and we didn’t have a baby Jesus to bake inside as a surprise, so instead we used an almond, no one found it yet…there’s always tomorrow I suppose!!  Maybe one day I will tell her that mixing dough is much easier with my awesome Kitchenaid mixer…hmmm.
Tomorrow we move on to making a journal with boy so he can choose an animal to study.  He is only 3 so I don’t think I will have to worry too much about science facts- what a relief!!
About Carmen

Hi. I am a wife, homeschooling mom, reader, crafter, geek, and sci fi nerd. Mostly, I just love Jesus and try to love others too like He does.
This entry was posted in Life in General, What's Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

