Hello 2010!

I thought I would just post a little something I shared on Facebook earlier this week.  It has been hectic here just getting DD back in the swing of school and getting her brother used to not having her home all day.  Anyway, my goals for 2010 as I posted on FB.

I’m not making any resolutions, I am however laying out a few things I am doing this year. Feel free to join in- or just see how it’s coming. My goals for 2010- and not they are not resolutions because if one or two don’t get done, that’s ok, I can just keep trying.

1)Read the whole Bible- I am using the One Year chronological bible for this

2) Join Soldiers Angels and be on the sewing team making blankets- joined 2 January, adopted an E-6 and am putting together a package.

3)For my personal wardrobe and home- but only handmade or thrifted items for 1 year, why? I think $30 for a pair of jeans is ridiculous, and there isn’t much at the stores I actually like, there’s no character in the clothing if everyone looks the same. **I got this idea from http://dottieangel.blogspot.com/ **
(as a sidenote, DH thinks this is the best idea yet- he did anyway until I suggested he do the same!)

4)Take a writing course and maybe join the Christian Writers Guild…that’s a lofty one

5)Have a special year long project with each of my kids so I can spend one on one time with each of them. They are thinking of what they want to do…so far Caleb has said he wants to earn his wilderness explorer patches and find a big bird named kevin and teach Dixie to talk…we watched UP yesterday, can you tell?

6)Not watch as much TV

7)Save up for a big purchase in the fall of 2010- no I won’t say what…except it is not a baby.  🙂

8) Go on our super special secret Latvis 4 family vacation in August!!! I am saving my pennies now!! 😉

I will try and update progress on each of these 2010 projects 🙂

**UPDATE #1**

Caleb and I hit the road running today- he has decided we are going to make our very own diego field journal…except it’s Caleb’s Book of What God Created…I think we need a better title lol…

Faith is still thinking…I have a feelingi t could be a cookbook or something, she has gotten 2 this year and thinks shes quite the little chef.
 
So that’s all I have for now.  I will say that I have finished Day 5 reading, and Caleb and Faith both chose their projects, for F it’s gonna be a year long study in cooking- kinda like Julie and Julia except not lol!  We have 4 kids cookbooks and we will cook a different recipe each week and write up our review and any spruce up tips we came up with.  I think our end goal with this is a handmade cookbook for our young cousins for Christmas next year. 
 
Did I mention another goal that I thought up last year as I was searching for gifts…a totally handmade Christmas!  We’ll see who takes the bait on that one. 

About Carmen

Hi. I am a wife, homeschooling mom, reader, crafter, geek, and sci fi nerd. Mostly, I just love Jesus and try to love others too like He does.
This entry was posted in Life in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

