Obi-Wan

Here is the costume breakdown for Obi-Wan- I had a few difficulties with this costume, so in the end I was thrilled it even turned out. First is the obvious piece- the robe. It was also constructed out of flannel- twelve yards of flannel in two 6 yard pieces. I sewed them together length wise and constructed the robe the same way I made the kid jedi robes. The hem was much more difficult since I couldn’t just shout at J to stop playing and come try on his costume! His pants and undershirt are actually a karate gi I dyed tan…except it didn’t turn out tan the first time- it was more peachy. Then I bleached it and it was pink. So I dyed it brown, but it looked slightly orange. I repeated the bleach and re-dye a few times until I was mostly satisfied with the color. The tabards and obi are actually one piece, the obi is sewn to the back of the tabards- the obi then wrapped around his waist and was pinned in place. He bought his belt and wore his own boots and borrowed a lightsaber from the kiddos. All in all I think Obi-Wan turned out pretty good.
About Carmen

Hi. I am a wife, homeschooling mom, reader, crafter, geek, and sci fi nerd. Mostly, I just love Jesus and try to love others too like He does.
This entry was posted in costumes, halloween, obi-wan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

