Darth Maul (my hubby)

I believe this costume turned out the best of every single one I made this year. Every single detail just fell into place and I think hubby finally found a keeper. At the beach parade and while out with the kids we were stopped so people, young and old, could take a picture with Darth Maul. I am a little biased, but I think he should’ve won the contests we entered- hands down. His robe was a massive undertaking, I haven’t sewn anything that large before. It’s made of flannel like the others, but has an enormous hood, long flared bell sleeves and pleated satiny panels. (I have no idea what they are really called, they were on the costume pictures I had seen online, so I recreated them.) He is also wearing a karate gi, we bought that one in black, and black gauze for the tabards. I raided dad’s upholstery shop to get the naugahyde to make his belt- which after a week on mid shift was almost too big! It wouldn’t hurt my feelings if I could drop ten pounds without trying. 😉

He is wearing some of his issued winter boots, plain black leather gloves and of course, tons of face paint. I did his makeup free hand using one of the munchkins action figures to get the design right. The horns I actually sculpted from sculpey clay and baked, then painted to detail them. We found the easiest way to keep those on his head was not to use spirit gum. He made small cuts in the bald cap he wore and pushed each horn through the cap until it was stable, then I was able to glue the cap to his head and commence painting. It took about an hour to paint his face from start to finish. I’m actually not happy with the second time I painted his face, it looked much better at the beach parade in my opinion (3rd picture is him driving to the beach.) Enjoy!!
About Carmen

Hi. I am a wife, homeschooling mom, reader, crafter, geek, and sci fi nerd. Mostly, I just love Jesus and try to love others too like He does.
This entry was posted in cloak, costumes, Craft Corner, crafts, halloween, jedi, Sewing, Star Wars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

