My little Luke and Leia


both looking at the camera
Originally uploaded by tankrgrl879

Here are Luke and Leia Skywalker- yeah I know they are supposed to be twins, but hey, it’s a costume, we can use our imaginations a little. I made both of their jedi robes with flannel, and the pattern I kind of made up. I had seen a lot of different patterns for making robes, but I figured it couldn’t be too hard right?! So I ended up folding my material in half (after it was washed and dried of course to accomodate shrinkage) and cut a hole in the center for their heads to fit through, then with the wrong side of the material facing out I drew on the material on one half only- where their armpits and tips of their fingers reached. Then from the armpit to the ankles I just drew and angled line. Once I had sewn one half of the robe, I folded it in half length wise and traced the seam I had just made. I sewed the other side down and then cut the robe open in the front, middle. For the hood I measured a the length all around the neck opening and for the kids, if the neck opening was 16 I cut a square of fabric 24×24..a giant square. One end was sewn up and the opening attatched to the neck via french seams to keep the appearance neat (on Leia’s robe anyway, Luke was bit impatient to wait for all the fancy sewing) and then I hemmed all the rough edges. Instant jedi robe. For Leia I dyed a regular old walmart long sleeve girls shirt with RIT wine colored dye, and from the clearance rack at Joann’s used some purple gauze (yes, her top costume is totally different than what was originally posted- she wanted her costume to look more Leia) to make her outer tunic. She didn’t want the tabard things that the other Jedi had, so with her original pants and belt her costume was completed with the fake hair Leia buns- a hairstyle she actually picked!!

Luke’s costume is the same as I originally posted. The only exception are his boot covers that I remade to have 2 buckles per boot, and they turned out pretty neat, i will have to try and take a picture of those. I basically made spats with a shoe top flap. He grew his hair out from June on to get that shaggy 70s Luke look. Now he doesn’t want to cut his hair!

About Carmen

Hi. I am a wife, homeschooling mom, reader, crafter, geek, and sci fi nerd. Mostly, I just love Jesus and try to love others too like He does.
This entry was posted in Craft Corner, halloween, jedi, Sewing, Star Wars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

